Bienvenue À GÉORISQUES 8

Au nom de la Société canadienne de géotechnique et de la Section régionale de l’est du Québec, nous vous accueillons au Musée de la civilisation, à Québec, pour la 8­e conférence canadienne sur la géotechnique et les risques naturels, aussi appelée Géorisques 8 qui aura lieu du 12 au 15 juin 2022. Le programme scientifique qui s’étale sur trois jours comprend des plénières présentées par des invités d’honneur, des présentations orales et par affiches présentées par les participants, un compte-rendu des articles acceptés et une visite technique sur le terrain. À ces activités s’ajoutent deux événements à saveur festive pour se détendre et discuter entre consœurs et confrères.

 

Cette 8e Conférence canadienne sur les géorisques marque les 30 ans de l’événement, puisque la première édition s’est tenue en 1992 à Vancouver. La plus récente édition s’est tenue en 2018 à Canmore. Cette série de conférences est une initiative du Comité sur les géorisques de la Société canadienne de géotechnique. Le but principal de cette conférence est de faire le point sur l’état des connaissances en matière d’évaluation et de gestion des risques naturels, notamment ceux d’origine géologique, et d’identifier les avancées et défis émergeants.

 

Le thème de la conférence Géorisques 8 est «des géosciences innovantes pour demain» et couvre les géorisques survenant dans le roc, le sol, le pergélisol et la neige affectant la sécurité du public, les infrastructures et l’environnement. Tous les sujets pertinents à ce thème seront abordés, de la gestion à l’enseignement, des responsabilités professionnelles aux défis techniques, des études de cas aux normes, des nouvelles technologies à l’état des connaissances. Tous les types de risques naturels à saveur géotechnique et géologiques sont couverts par cette conférence, soit des avalanches de neige aux coulées argileuses en passant par les glissements sous-marins, les tsunamis, les séismes et autres phénomènes potentiellement dommageables.

On behalf of the Canadian Geotechnical Society and the Eastern Quebec section, we are pleased to invite you to Geohazards 8, the 8th Canadian Conference on Geotechnique and Natural Hazards, on June 12-15, 2022 at the Musée de la civilisation in Quebec City. This three-day conference will include plenary sessions from keynote speakers, oral presentations, poster sessions, conference proceedings and a full day technical tour. 2 festive evenings for informal networking and socializing are also on the agenda.

 

This 8th Geohazards conference marks the 30th anniversary of the event, with the first conference held in 1992 in Vancouver. It follows the conference held in Canmore in 2018. This series of conferences is an initiative of the Geohazards committee of the CGS. The main focus of the conference is to showcase a variety of geohazards research, including risk assessment and management, as well as recent developments and emerging challenges.

 

The theme of the conference is “Innovative Geoscience for Tomorrow” and covers geohazards in rock, soil, permafrost and snow that can affect public safety, infrastructures and the environment. A wide variety of topics will be discussed including case studies, emerging challenges and technologies, risk management, teaching and professional standards and responsibilities. The conference covers all geotechnical-related natural hazards, such as snow avalanches, flowslides, submarine landslides tsunamis, earthquakes.

Nos commanditaires

Platine

OR

Conetec / Mud Bay Drilling

Stantec

Geobrugg

Englobe

ABS

Lieu de l'ÉvÉnement

L’événement se tiendra dans le Vieux-Québec, plus précisément dans la Basse-Ville, près du fleuve St-Laurent. Vieille de 4 siècles, la ville de Québec est membre de l’UNESCO entre autres grâce à ses fortifications préservées. Géorisques 8 se tiendra au Musée de la civilisation où près de 460 expositions ont été présentées depuis son ouverture, dont des dizaines de renommées internationales, plusieurs en provenance de musées prestigieux, mais la plupart conçues et imaginées par l’équipe du Musée. Hors pandémie, le Musée accueille plus de 600 000 visiteurs par année. En 2020, les réserves muséales contenaient plus de 222 300 objets, 197 426 volumes rares ou anciens ainsi que 1,2 km linéaire d’archives historiques.

Commanditaires et Exposants

Devenir commanditaire de Géorisques 8, c’est une occasion de placer votre organisation parmi les chefs de file canadiens dans les domaines de la géotechnique et des risques naturels. Vous pourrez ainsi offrir à votre organisation une visibilité hors pair et donner de la notoriété à votre marque sur les scènes nationale et internationale par l’entremise du site Web et de l’infolettre de la conférence et grâce à la visibilité obtenue auprès des quelque 150 délégués et invités canadiens et internationaux attendus. 


Quatre programmes de partenariat sont disponibles pour la conférence Géorisques 8.


Pour plus d'information, veuillez visiter la page Commanditaires et exposants.

Conférenciers invités

Les conférenciers invités suivants feront des présentations durant les sessions pléniaires tout au long de la conférence.

  • Dr. Jean Hutchinson, Ph.D., P.Eng., FEIC, FCAE (Queen's University)

     

  • Lukas Arenson, Dr. Sc. Techn. ETH, P.Eng. (BGC Engineering Inc.)

     

  • Suzanne Lacasse, Ph.D., et Jean-Sébastien L'Heureux, Ph.D. (Norwegian Geotechnical Institute)

     

  • David MCCormack, Ph.D. (Natural Resources Canada) 

 

  • Pascal Locat, Candidat au Ph.D. (Ministère des Transports du Québec)

Pour plus d'information sur les sessions plénières, veuillez visiter la section Programme-Conférenciers invités.

Nos PARTENAIRES

WELCOME TO GEOHAZARDS 8

On behalf of the Canadian Geotechnical Society and the Eastern Quebec section, we are pleased to invite you to Geohazards 8, the 8th Canadian Conference on Geotechnique and Natural Hazards, on June 12-15, 2022 at the Musée de la civilisation in Quebec City. This three-day conference will include plenary sessions from keynote speakers, oral presentations, poster sessions, conference proceedings and a full day technical tour. 2 festive evenings for informal networking and socializing are also on the agenda.

 

This 8th Geohazards conference marks the 30th anniversary of the event, with the first conference held in 1992 in Vancouver. It follows the conference held in Canmore in 2018. This series of conferences is an initiative of the Geohazards committee of the CGS. The main focus of the conference is to showcase a variety of geohazards research, including risk assessment and management, as well as recent developments and emerging challenges.

 

The theme of the conference is “Innovative Geoscience for Tomorrow” and covers geohazards in rock, soil, permafrost and snow that can affect public safety, infrastructures and the environment. A wide variety of topics will be discussed including case studies, emerging challenges and technologies, risk management, teaching and professional standards and responsibilities. The conference covers all geotechnical-related natural hazards, such as snow avalanches, flowslides, submarine landslides tsunamis, earthquakes.

Our sponsors

Platinum

GOLD

Conetec / Mud Bay Drilling

Stantec

Geobrugg

VENUE

The event will be held in historic Old Quebec City, known for its colonial buildings and architecture. Located on the shores of the St.Lawrence river, its preserved fortified walls and 400 year-old history make it member of UNESCO. The event will take place in the Musée de la civilisation, at the heart of Old Quebec. Nearly 460 exhibitions have been presented within the walls of the Museum since its opening, including dozens of internationally renowned exhibitions, several from prestigious museums, but most of them designed and imagined by the Museum. Musée de la civilization normally welcomes more than 600 000 visitors per year. In 2020, the museum collections consisted of more than 222 300 objects, 197 426 rare or old volumes as well as 1.2 linear km of archival records.

Sponsors and exhibitORs

Sponsorship of GeoHazards 8 is an unparalleled opportunity to position your organization among Canada's leaders in the geotechnical and natural hazards engineering fields. This will allow you to raise your profile and brand awareness in the national and international marketplace through the conference website and newsletter, and the exposure to an expected audience of over 150 Canadian and international delegates and guests.

GeoHazards 8 sponsorship is available in four different categories.


For more information about sponsorship to Geohazards 8, please visit the Sponsors and exhibitors page 

Keynote Speakers

The following presentations will take place during the plenary sessions throughout the conference

  • Dr. Jean Hutchinson, Ph.D., P.Eng., FEIC, FCAE (Queen's University)

     

  • Lukas Arenson, Dr. Sc. Techn. ETH, P.Eng. (BGC Engineering Inc.)

     

  • Suzanne Lacasse, Ph.D., and Jean-Sébastien L'Heureux, Ph.D. (Norwegian Geotechnical Institute)

     

  • David MCCormack, Ph.D. (Natural Resources Canada) 

 

  • Pascal Locat, Ph.D. Candidate, (Ministère des Transports du Québec)

For more information on the plenary sessions, please visit the Program-Keynote speakers section.

Our PARTNerS